The Conservative Beacon

Uniting the Conservative Movement

Bush says Muslims Pray to Same God as Christians

Posted by Joshua Price on October 9, 2007

I came across an interesting story at World Net Daily. It seems as though President Bush believes that Muslims and Christians pray to the same God.

President George Bush has repeated his belief all religions, “whether they be Muslim, Christian, or any other religion, prays to the same God” – an assertion that caused outrage among evangelical leaders when he said it in November 2003.

Bush made the statement Friday in an interview with Al Arabiya reporter Elie Nakouzi.

Al Arabiya is Al Jazeerah’s top competitor in the Mideast.

The story continues:

As the president and Nakouzi walked from the Oval Office to the Map Room in the White House residence, Nazouki asked, “But I want to tell you – and I hope this doesn’t bother you at all – that in the Islamic world they think that President Bush is an enemy of Islam – that he wants to destroy their religion, what they believe in. Is that in any way true, Mr. President?”

“No, it’s not,” said Bush. “I’ve heard that, and it just shows [sic] to show a couple of things: One, that the radicals have done a good job of propagandizing. In other words, they’ve spread the word that this really isn’t peaceful people versus radical people or terrorists, this is really about the America not liking Islam.

“Well, first of all, I believe in an Almighty God, and I believe that all the world, whether they be Muslim, Christian, or any other religion, prays to the same God. That’s what I believe. I believe that Islam is a great religion that preaches peace. And I believe people who murder the innocent to achieve political objectives aren’t religious people, whether they be a Christian who does that – we had a person blow up our – blow up a federal building in Oklahoma City who professed to be a Christian, but that’s not a Christian act to kill innocent people.

“And I just simply don’t subscribe to the idea that murdering innocent men, women and children – particularly Muslim men, women and children in the Middle East – is an act of somebody who is a religious person.

And finally:

In Friday’s interview with Al Arabiya, Bush emphasized his outreach to Muslims.

“We are having an Iftaar dinner tonight – I say, ‘we’ – it’s my wife and I,” Bush told Nakouzi. “This is the seventh one in the seven years I’ve been the president. It gives me a chance to say ‘Ramadan Mubarak.’ The reason I do this is I want people to understand about my country. In other words, I hope this message gets out of America. I want people to understand that one of the great freedoms in America is the right for people to worship any way they see fit. If you’re a Muslim, an agnostic, a Christian, a Jew, a Hindu, you’re equally American.

“And the value – the most valuable thing I think about America is that – particularly if you’re a religious person – you can be free to worship, and it’s your choice to make. It’s not the state’s choice, and you shouldn’t be intimidated after you’ve made your choice. And that’s a right that I jealously guard.

“Secondly, I want American citizens to see me hosting an Iftaar dinner.”

“That’s a strong message for the Americans,” said Nakouzi.

I honestly don’t know what has gotten into Bush. This is just another example of how we just don’ have a conservative leader in the White House.

http://www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=58026

Subscribe in a reader

8 Responses to “Bush says Muslims Pray to Same God as Christians”

  1. jules said

    Almost all Biblical scholars agree that the God of Judaism, Christianity and Islam are one in the same. They are commonly referred to in academic circles as the
    Abrahamic religions, in reference to the God of Abraham from which they all stem.

  2. You are correct, however, the path to salvation only goes through the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Islam traces its roots back to Ismael–Abraham’s illegitimate in God’s eyes and His are the only ones that matter) son.

    But Bush also said “any other religion” prays to the same God. That’s untrue. Hindus don’t pray to the same God as Christians and Jews.

    This was Bush trying to be politically correct, specifically in the Arab world.

  3. hotconflict said

    http://www.hotconflict.com/blog/2007/10/allah-the-god-o.html

    There seems to be a lot of debate here in the United States. Many people are trying to suggest that the God Allah of the Muslims is not the same God of the other monotheistic religions. This is a very serious misunderstanding of Islam and I am surprised it is so common in this society. The very essence of the message of Islam is that there is no other God than Allah. The God of Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, and Mohammad.

  4. I checked out the link above. I heard the call on The Savage Nation. And I agree, in part, that Islam is made up of different sects like Savage explained. Specifically, there has been a radicalized, or more appropriately, brainwashed section that believes terrorizing non-Muslims is a good and religious practice.

    I further understand, and believe myself, that not all Muslims are terrorists, but why don’t why see more Imams and Muslim scholars denounce and repudiate terrorist attacks? Right or wrong, it leaves us in the Christian world wondering if all Muslims, in their hearts, support terrorist activities.

    I further agree, that Islam and Christianity share the same distaste for liberalism.

    My issue is if you’re a Muslim supporting this country and you don’t believe in using terror as part of your religion, then stand up and denounce the attacks.

  5. jules said

    I’m afraid you’re wrong about that statement about the Hindus Joshua. I can tell you from my background as a comparative religions student that Hindus believe there is only one God. However, they believe that there are many physical manifestations of that one God. That one God is argued by many theological experts as the same God of Abraham.

  6. Let clarify: Christians pray to the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, not Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Ismael.

    In my faith, Christianity, I believe that is only on path to God, and that is through His only son, Jesus Christ. The only way to pray to my God and have my prayers heard is to accept Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior.

    Islam, as you know, traces its lineage through Ismael. I don’t believe that Muslims and Christians pray to the same God. Remember, monotheism means one god; monotheism does not specify a “god,” it simply means worshiping one god.

    Is Christianity monotheistic? Yes. Is Islam monotheistic? Yes. Does that mean that Christians and Muslims pray to the same god? No, it doesn’t. It simply means that they pray to one god.

  7. I would like to say, however, that I am enjoying this discussion we are having about a very important subject.

  8. I want to set the record straight. I am being branded as a “Muslim hater.” That is simply incorrect.

    My faith does not allow me to hate people. It teaches me to hate the sin.

    Now in this case the sin I’m talking about is Islamofascism–the convert to Islam or die crowd (i.e. Muslim terrorists).

    I do NOT hate Muslims. I hate the Islamofascist terrorists.

Leave a Reply

 
